Best Banana Bread Ever

This is another great recipe passed down from my grandma. This is also one of the very first things I started baking.

My students get bananas at lunch time that they don’t want so instead of them throwing them away, I told them to bring me the bananas and I would make banana bread for them. They are so excited to get the bread and ask everyday when I am bringing it. Tomorrow will be a great surprise for them. Over the course of two weeks, I got about 30 bananas. I quadrupled this recipe and I used 16 bananas (4 extra) because they were pretty small.

IMG_2484

IMG_2536

IMG_2543

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cp. butter, room temperature
  • 1 cp. sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 T. sour milk (add 1 tsp. vinegar to the milk and let sit atleast 3 minutes)
  • 3 bananas, mashed and very ripe
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 cps. flour

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Grease and flour 2 large loaf pans or 3 medium size loaf pans. (You can also make them in muffin or donut form)
  3. Make sure the bananas are soft if they were frozen, and mashed.
  4. In a large mixing bowl, add the butter and sugar and mix until well blended.
  5. Add the eggs and sour milk and mix until thoroughly blended.
  6. Mix in the bananas until well incorporated.
  7. Add baking soda, baking powder, and flour to the bowl and mix until well blended.
  8. Fill the loaf pans half full and bake for 35-45 minutes.
Leave a Reply

