Pumpkin Bread

This is the best pumpkin bread I have ever had and is my dad’s favorite bread. My pumpkin bread and banana bread recipes are the closest to me because they were the first breads and the first recipes I ever learned to make from my grandma.

There are many ways to eat this bread. I baked this bread in my donut pan once when I wanted pumpkin donuts and it turned out awesome. This bread is kept very well frozen for later dates and also tastes good frozen. The dough is very tasty and sometimes I purposefully under-bake the bread so my dad and I can eat the bread more mushy. You can also toast the bread if you want it crunchy. Then you can spread butter, nut butter, or jelly on it. When eating it warm, you can dunk it in milk to make it soggy too.

IMG_2302

IMG_2303

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cps. sugar
  • 1/2 cp. canola oil
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cp. pumpkin
  • 1 3/4 cp. flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. cloves
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. allspice
  • 1/3 cp. water

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 1 big loaf pan or 2 medium size loaf pans. (You can also make about 4 mini loaf pans)
  2. Mix sugar and oil until they are thoroughly mixed.
  3. Add eggs and pumpkin and beat until mixed well.
  4. Add the rest of the ingredients until they are well blended.
  5. Bake for 50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  6. Cool in pan for about 5 minutes and then tap the sides of the pan and turn it over to release the bread.
Leave a Reply

