Jerk Chicken

It was my dad’s 51st birthday last Sunday and I wanted to make it very special for him.  Him and my mom always went to the Grand Cayman when I was young and once I got older that was our vacation spot.  Due to medical reasons we unfortunately have not been able to go the past five years. I decided to bring the Cayman and the Cayman style foods to him. I searched for the most authentic and best recipes for the Caymanian style and the ones listed in this post are what I found. Today I am posting everything I cooked for the Caymanian style dinner including Jerk Chicken, Mahi Mahi, sauteed vegetables, rum cake, and cassava cake. This dinner was a big hit! In addition to making dinner, my best friend and I decorated our whole dining room with sea shells, plants, beach towels, sunscreen bottles, and festive lights. We truly felt like we were in the Cayman for dinner. This was my first big hosting event and I absolutely loved it. I read over my recipes all week before the big dinner while collecting the rare ingredients I needed from the grocery store. I was happy the dinner turned out so well and my timing will all of the foods was great. I can’t wait until I have another meal and event to plan. Truly a blessing from God.

I was amazed at how many ingredients went into making jerk chicken. Everyone loved it and I think the key is to marinate it over night. My mom even said this is the best jerk chicken she has ever tried. (Mahi Mahi is next to the Jerk Chicken in the picture below.)

IMG_1240

Ingredients:

For the Marinade
  • 3 T soy sauce
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 2 T vegetable oil
  • 1 T molasses
  • 1 T vinegar
  • 2 tsp. dried thyme
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1 tsp. allspice
  • 1 tsp. powdered ginger
  • 1 jalapeno pepper finely diced (more if you like your food hot)
  • 1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts
Instructions
  1. Mix the marinade ingredients together in a bowl. Place chicken breasts in a plastic bag. Pour marinade over breasts and squish it around so that the chicken is properly coated. Allow to sit in the fridge overnight.
  2. Grill the chicken breasts over medium-high heat until the internal temperature is 165º. Remove from grill, allow to cool and cube.
  3. Allow the meat to chill in the fridge. (I served mine warm and it was still wonderful!)

IMG_1214

 

IMG_1215

IMG_1235

 

Adapted from: abeautifulbite.com

One thought on “Jerk Chicken

  1. What a special day! What a beautiful meal! What an excellent ambiance! And what a fantastic daughter! We were overjoyed! And–The jerk chicken was delightful!

Leave a Reply

