Homemade Pizza

This pizza is homemade, thin crust, and very easy to make. I had been putting off making this recipe because I figured it has dough so it is going to take a long time but I was wrong! This is another recipe passed down to me from my grandma. Over the past year I have made at least three other types of homemade pizzas but none of them had the long lasting satisfying flavor or taste that this one has. Most of them were bland and some of the dough did not get crunchy enough. Ever since my grandma gave me this recipe about six months ago almost every time she sees me she asks have you made my homemade pizza recipe yet? I always reply no not yet grandma. Now she is on vacation but when she comes back I will be excited to tell her I finally made her pizza recipe and it is the best I have ever made.

The best part of making homemade pizza is getting to put on whatever toppings an whatever amounts of those toppings you like! Be creative and try to things. My photo shows that my pizza was not a perfect rectangle but that is okay…it all tastes the same.

IMG_1151 IMG_1152 IMG_1153 IMG_1154 IMG_1156

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cp. warm water
  • 1 pkg yeast (or 2 1/4 tsp.)
  • 1 1/2 cps flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 T. powdered milk
  • 1/4 cp. soft butter

Toppings: all are optional, use what you like

  • 1 8 Oz. can pizza sauce
    • Homemade pizza sauce-1 8 Oz. can tomato sauce mixed with 2 T. parmesan cheese, 1 T. oil, 1/2 tsp. oregano, mix together and spread on pizza
  • Homemade pizza sauce-1 8 Oz. can tomato sauce mixed with 2 T. parmesan cheese, 1 T. oil, 1/2 tsp. oregano, mix together and spread on pizza
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Canadian Bacon
  • Pineapple
  • Hot dogs
  • Onion, black olive, green olive, salami, sausage, pepperoni, etc.

Directions:

  1. Grease a cookie sheet.
  2. Dissolve yeast in a large bowl with 1/2 cp. warm water.
  3. Add flour, powdered milk, and salt to dissolved yeast and mix with a wooden spoon. It will start to get doughy
  4. Add soft butter to dough mixture. Start to mix with hands, kneading the mixture until it is all mixed in and the dough has formed.
  5. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and a towel and let rise about an hour. It will only rise a little bit. (The original recipe does not say to let the dough rise for 1 hour but I am assuming it needs to…you can try to cook it without letting it rise.)
  6. Flour a tabletop and roll out dough into a rectangle, then place the dough onto the cookie sheet and continue to form into a rectangle (You can pinch the sides to create a crust if you like, the dough may not fill up the whole cookie sheet but that is okay. The dough is meant to make a thin crust.)
  7. Coat pizza with a thin layer of sauce so the crust does not get soggy, sprinkle with Parmesan cheese, add desired toppings, then sprinkle mozzarella cheese on top.
  8. Bake at 400 degrees 15-20 minutes
Leave a Reply

